National Seminar on ‘Trends in Biological Sciences and Sustainable Development’

The Department of Life Sciences, Dibrugarh University organized a two days National Seminar on ‘Trends in Biological Sciences and Sustainable Development’ on 5th and 6th of February, 2020 with the objective to provide a common platform for the Scientists, Researchers & Academicians from different arena to interact, exchange & share ideas to utilize the biological resources sustainably and also to explore possibilities in the biological sciences for sustainable development. The inaugural session of the seminar was held on 5th Feb., 2020 at Conference hall of Centre for Management Studies, Dibrugarh University. The session started with the University Anthem followed by Welcome Address by Prof. Bijoy Neog, Organizing Secretary of the Seminar. The Hon’ble Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Ranjit Tamuli inaugurated the Seminar by his inaugural address, followed by Speech of the guest of honour Dr. J. Mahanta, Former Director RMRC (ICMR), Dibrugarh. The plenary talk in the inaugural session was given by the Chief Guest, Prof. N.C. Talukdar, Director, Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology, Guwahati, Assam. The other dignitaries present in the event included Prof. B.K. Dutta, former Professor, Assam University, Silchar and currently Member of NEC, Shillong, Meghalaya, Prof. R.N.S. Yadav, Dean, Faculty of Biological Sciences, Dibrugarh University along with Dr. Devid Kardong, Head, Department of Life Sciences, and other faculty members of various Departments of the University. The Vote of Thanks was delivered by Dr. M. K. Singh, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences, Dibrugarh University. Ms. Minakshi Puzari, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences and Ms. Upasana Phukan, Research Scholar of Department of Life Sciences were the anchors for the sessions. There were 75 participants from different institutions across the country, who registered for the National Seminar and presented their papers in the same. There were total seven technical sessions for Oral Presentations with Chairpersons Prof. B. K. Dutta, Prof. R. Samanta, Prof. S. P. Biswas, Prof. D. S. Bora, Prof. L.R. Saikia, Prof. R. N. S. Yadav and Dr. D. Kardong respectively. The rapporteurs were Dr. P. Chetia, Dr. M. K. Singh, Ms. M. Puzari, Dr. M. Borkataky, Dr. S. Sinha, Dr. A. K. Chaliha respectively for the oral sessions. The session for poster presentations was evaluated by Prof. B. K. Dutta and Prof. D. S. Bora. The Best Poster Presentation award was given to Mr. James H. Zothanluanga of Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dibrugarh University.