SANMILAN 2019 Concludes

The 3 days intellectual convergence, SANMILAN 2019 was inaugurated on 15th February, 2019 by Prof. Ranjit Kumar Tamuli, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, Dibrugarh University; Mr. Zia Siddiqui, CEO & MD of Alliance Hotels and Resorts; and Dr. Pratim Barua, Chairperson i/c, Centre for Management Studies, Dibrugarh University. The Souvenir commemorating the occasion was released by the dignitaries and it was edited by Dr. Parthajit Doley, Assistant Professor, CMSDU. In the inaugural session, the Bhubaneswar Barman Memorial Award was also given to Ms. Priyanka Lohia who topped the MBA (FT) programme of the Centre in 2018 by the Hon’ble VC and Smt. Anuradha Barman (wife of Late Bhubaneswar Barman).

Super Investor – the Investment Portfolio Competition was the first event conducted on 15th February, 2019. This competition was played on real-time stock prices at the Bombay Stock Exchange. The team of Mayuri Bhattacharjee & Sayantan Guha Mazumder (Department of Commerce, Dibrugarh University) won the competition. Manthan – the Panel Discussion on the theme was the second event of Day 1. The panelists were Mr. Dipmoina Dowarah, Founder & CEO at Okegiga Holiday Homes Pvt. Ltd.; Dr. Nazrana Ahmed, Chairan, Assam Tea Planters Association; and Mr. Rishi Kumar Saraf, General Manager, Purvi Discovery Pvt. Ltd. The discussion was moderated by Dr. Chimun Kumar Nath, HoD, Department of Commerce, Dibrugarh University. The best question award of Manthan was won by Sweety Payeng (CMSDU). Straight Talk – the Direct Interaction with an expert on the theme was the third event of the day. The invited expert was Dr. Deborshee Gogoi, Assistant Professor, Digboi College and it was moderated by Dr. Himadri Barman, Chief Coordinator, SANMILAN 2019. The best question award of Straight Talk was won by Sanjeevan Baruah (CMSDU). BizMantra – the Open Business Quiz was the last event of the opening day. The business quiz was conducted by Mr. Syed Burhanur Rahman, who is a Lawyer at Gauhati High Court and Supreme Court and a National Level Quizmaster. The quiz was won by Biswajit Sarma & Raktim Ranjan Baishya (Cotton University).

Khoj – the Treasure Hunt Competition was conducted over two days on 15th and 16th of February, 2019.
It was won by Bibak Tocha, Kangkan Baruah, Abhinandan Konwar, Neeraj Thapa (Department of Education, Dibrugarh University). Empressa – the Business Plan competition and Clicke – the Photography Competition was also conducted on 16th February, 2019. The best presenting team of Empresa was Shekharjyoti Sharma, Anumita Bora Bodosa, Arbasin Hazarika, Partha Protim Goswami (Assam Institute of Management, Guwahati). Clicke was won by Megha Pradhan (Centre for Studies in Journalism and Mass Communication, Dibrugarh University). Rhythm – the Voice of Dibrugarh University competition was held on 16th & 17th February, 20’19. The singing competition was judged by Smt. Gopa Konwar and Smt. Dipali Sarma, Approved Singers at All India Radio and Doordarshan. It was won by Gitaleen Dutta (Department of Economics, Dibrugarh University).

There was also an event called Shristi – the Art and Crafts Exhibition which was held on all the three days, i.e., 15th – 17th Februray, 2019. The featured artist was Ms. Priyanka Deb of Dibrugarh. The 3 day event ended with “Winter Dews” – the Cultural Extravaganza. Total prize money was Rs. 76,000/- for SANMILAN 2019. OIL, IOCL, NRL, AGCL, Asom Aditya, Vodafone, North East Small Finance Bank, Honda Cars and Banalata were the major sponsors. Students from Nagaland University, Assam Institute of Management, Cotton University, Women’s College, Tinsukia, Gargaon College, Sivasagar; Women’s College, Tinsukia; MDKG College, Dibrugarh; DHSK College, Dibrugarh; CTE College, Golaghat and several Departments/Centres of Dibrugarh University participated in the various events of SANMILAN 2019. Quiz enthusiasts of Moran Quiz Club also participated.