Professor Maheswar Neog Memorial Oration

Mahes neo 2Mahes neo 8

The Twentieth Professor Maheswar Neog Commemoration Lecture was held at the Rangghar Auditorium of Dibrugarh University on 12th September, 2017. The oration was jointly organized by the Professor Maheswar Neog Memorial Trust in collaboration with Dibrugarh University. An eminent scholar of Comparative Literature, Professor Indra Nath Choudhury, former Professor, Delhi University and former Director, Nehru Museum, London delivered the commemoration lecture in a solemn function. The oration was on, Aesthetics: The East and the West. In his lecture, Professor Choudhury paid rich tribute to the legendary scholar and recalled his colossal contribution to the Assamese culture history and literature and the recognition Professor Neog earned as an Indologist of high standing. Professor Choudhury presented a comprehensive narrative on the divergent aesthetic viewpoints of the east and the west and commented that deeper realization about life can come about only when beauty is perceived through the prism of truth.

The evening’s programme began with the lighting of the ceremonial lamp by Professor Alak Kumar Buragohain, Vice-chancellor, Dibrugarh University accompanied by Professor Nagen Saikia, former Bezbaroa Chair Professor, Dibrugarh University and President, Professor Maheswar Neog Memorial Trust and Professor Karabi Deka Hazarika, Bezbaroa Chair Professor, Dibrugarh University and the Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences. Former Professor of Tezpur University and Secretary of the Memorial Trust conducted the programme. Professor Nagen Saikia introduced the audience with the family members of Professor Neog including his eldest son, Shri Pranab Swarup Neog, Professor Usha Choudhury, wife of Professor Indra Nath Choudhury.

Mahes neo 5Mahes neo 1

The reprinted version of Professor Neog’s book on Sankardeva and Professor Karabi Deka Hazarika’s book on Maheswar Neog, published by Dibrugarh University were released during the event by the Vice-Chancellor and Professor Nagen Saikia respectively. It may be mentioned that Professor Maheswar Neog Memorial Trust has been organizing the Commemoration Lectures regularly since 1996 where eminent scholars like Professor Sisir Kumar Das, Professor K. Ayyappa Panikar, Professor Amio Dev and Professor G. N. Devy had presented the previous orations.  


Upcoming Events

News & Events