Dr. Chandrakala Bharali is awarded with the Fulbright Kalam-Climate Post Doctoral Fellowship

Dr. Chandrakala Bharali, working as a Women Scientist -A in the Department of Physics, Dibrugarh University under the mentorship of Dr. Binita Pathak, Assistant Professor of the department has been awarded with the Fulbright Kalam-Climate Post Doctoral Fellowship, 2020-21, by the United States–India Educational Foundation (USIEF). She will be working at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) (https://ncar.ucar.edu/), Boulder, Colorado, a premier US institute famous for world class research in Earth System Science, from April to December, 2021. Dr Mary Barth, Senior Scientist in the Atmospheric Chemistry Observations & Modeling Laboratory in NCAR will be the US host for Dr Bharali. Before joining as a Women Scientist in the Department of Physics, she was also awarded with National Post Doctoral Fellowship by the Science & Engineering Research Board (SERB), Department of Science & Technology, Govt of India, which was implemented by her in the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, ISRO, Trivandrum during 2017-2019. She obtained her Ph.D in Physics in 2016 for her work on Atmospheric trace gases using both measurements and modelling under the supervision of Prof. Pradip Kumar Bhuyan, Department of Physics, Dibrugarh University. Her research career in Atmospheric Science started during her M.Sc. days (2010-2011) in the Department of Physics, Dibrugarh University, when she started working in a project with Dr. Kalyan Bhuyan as a Student fellow under the Space Science Promotion Scheme of the Indian Space Research Organisation. It is worthwhile to mention here that Dr. Bharali is the first Fulbright Kalam-Climate Post Doctoral Fellow and is the second researcher after Tamanna Subba (Doctoral Research) to have received the award within the last four years from Dibrugarh University for research in Climate Science.

On her Achievement, the Department of Physics has felicitated her in presence of all the faculty members and Research Scholars of the department on 30th March, 2021.